Posted by: sebdude | March 17, 2008

Broke me hip, Shite happens

I dunno who does, or does not know but had small accident with my Bike last on Februay 20th. I was heading home from a party on my bike and I managed to slip and hit the sidewalk. I was in some serious pain in my left leg at the moment, but it didn’t seem as if I broke anything. Probably sprained a muscle or so, so I didn’t call 911. So my friends helped me get home that night. They were coming from the same party. The next morning, the pain in my hip joint was still there, so that wasn’t good. When I tried going the bathroom, I mistepped and the pain got a lot worse than it already was. Now, when i put pressure on the left leg, it seemed as if my whole bone in leg would turn inside the leg. That was not right, not a natural thing to say the least. The pain at moment was so severe, I didn’t know how I was ever going get down the stairs and to our local md or hospital. So, the doctor came by and told me to visit the hospital to take a picture of my leg because there were signs of a broken hip joint, ouch.. No wonder it hurt so bad. At this point in time, the pain was so severe that we had to call an ambulance to get me down the of the stairs and to hospital. (My Mom came to the rescue just before the doctor did) To keep it short, once a the hospital they made some x-rays of the pelvis area and it was true, I did brake my hip joint bone, or what ever it is called. It broke right on top of the ball joint, which is a very nasty way to break it. This bone usually breaks when your sixty years or older, but I pulled it off anyway. So, they had operate on the bone, put some screws is it, so that it grows back together. YESSS.. fun fun fun. I HATE hospitals!!! They finally operated on my bone that evening at 11 p.m., the operation took about 1.5 hours. I stayed at the hospital till Sunday, and since that time I have been at home recovering from the operation / accident in The Hague, NL. I have to walk with crutches for 6 weeks to 3 months, relying on how well the bone grows back together again. I will not know now for sure if the operation was successful for at least 3 years because there is chance that the bone won’t grow back together. then, they will need to replace the whole hip.  If not, I’m still scheduled (not really, but they probably will have to remove the screws sometime in the future) for a 2nd operation in a couple years to remove the screws again from the bone. Shit happens, but I wanted to let you all know. I’ll try to be online a bit more on msn or facebook. I’m on twitter and pownce as well. 


Leave a Reply

Categories

